FOLLOW ME

  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • c-youtube

© 2023 by SAMANTA JONES. Proudly created with Wix.com

Reviews Bellmore Life April, 2010

Book review: The journey-work of Long Island poets by Douglas Finlay

 

“A blade of grass is no less than the journey-work of the stars,” wrote Walt Whitman in his seminal “Leaves of Grass” over 100 years ago.

 

As one of America’s greatest poets – and certainly Long Island’s greatest – Whitman’s work is infused throughout with his bold sense of embracing the world around him, from the tiniest to the biggest.

 

Used free verse as a technique to help reflect his open, bold and feverish approach to observing Long Island life, he saw living on the Island as wondrous, something to be known and told about, to be shared.

 

He was also among the first to call Long Island Paumanok, a Long Island Indian term for, well, Long Island. Or, as East Meadow poet Robert Harrison suggested: “Paumanok was also a word Indians used to pay tribute to the people who lived on Long Island.”

 

Now comes a delightful new book written by Long Island poets that does justice to Whitman’s vision of Long Island called “Paumanok: Poems and Pictures of Long Island.” It also clarifies what Long Islanders have known -– and Whitman knew – all along about their unique and beloved island: ‘Tis a place of beauty indeed to be cherished.The several poets in the book, from past to contemporary, indeed show their abilities to continue the journey-work of Whitman.

 

Compiled and edited by Kathleen Donnelly, and published by Cross-Cultural Communications of Merrick, Stanley H. Barkan, publisher, this plush volume of 596 book-bound pages features a poem for each day of the year – along with a photo by a prominent Long Island photographer to match the poem, taking the reader on an intimate journey from early January through late December, showing the four seasons full of wonder, curiosity – and resolve.

 

Mr. Barkan said of the book that “ It is the most comprehensive, contemporary record of visual and verbal Long Island yet.”

 

Iconic Long Island poets are well represented, from Walt Whitman, the quintessential American poet in the lineage of Thoreau and Emerson; William Cullen Bryant; John Orville Terry; Julie Isham; Olivia Ward Bush-Banks and Mary Gardiner, up to contemporary poets such as Maxwell Corydon Wheat Jr., the late David Ignatow, George Wallace, Vince Clemente, Charles Adés Fishman, William Heyen, Philip Appleman, Grace Schulman, John Hall Wheelock, David Axelrod and Norbert Krapf.

 

Curiously missing from this book, however, is Donald Axinn, the only Long Island poet to once point out to this reviewer the subtler green shades of twilight.“

 

I initially wanted to publish a book about Long Island photographers,” remarked Ms. Donnelly, in describing development of the book. “But friends said it wouldn’t really work.”

 

When she was introduced to the poet Clare Nicolas White, granddaughter of famed architect Stanford White, on an unrelated matter, Ms. White learned of Ms. Donnelly’s interest in Long Island photographers and told Bellmore Life, “I invited George Wallace to come discuss a possible project” of matching some photos with poems, “which was Kathy’s idea.”

 

Mr. Wallace publishes a Long Island Quarterly review of poetry and had an impressive rolodex of Long Island poets, many of whom, it was thought, may be interested in the project of matching their poems to Long Island photographs.

 

From her meeting with Mr. Wallace, Ms. Donnelly became flush with the fragrance of knowledge that emanates from university book stacks and independent book stores, and began research on Long Island’s earliest poets first.

 

She found a caché that includes Ms. Gardiner (1791-1860, Sag Harbor); Ms. Isham (19th-early 20th Century, Shelter Island); Mr. Orville Terry (1976-1869, Orient); and Ms. Bush-Banks (1869-1944, Sag Harbor).

 

While Mr. Wallace would provide Ms. Donnelly with a sizable compilation of contemporary Long Island poets, Mr. Harrison and her publisher Mr. Barkan also added several leads for her research.

 

“Some of the poems were written for the pictures,” said Ms. Donnelly, while some of the pictures were taken to complement the poems. Ultimately, she was after a nature theme, one that extolled the natural world as Whitman experienced it on Long Island. Emotional markersThis reviewer looked for signposts along the journey through the seasons that could evince the raw feelings and evoke the memories one experiences among these precise days.

 

On a snowy winter’s night, for example, “..smoke signals from chimneys / of houses with windows laced with frost /...Winter has buried its secrets /...What other world could ever be / so filled with such solemnity?” asks Joan Higuchi in “Psalm for a Winter Night.”

 

The aura of early winter twilight reflects in David Napolin’s “Nightfall”: “The evening nods with easy grace / Lower and lower in the Western sky / Velvety blues lie along the sidewalk / Lean against the walls of buildings...”

 

Or the happenstance of sudden romance blooms at the thought of snow – as cover. “The moon rises in a rice paper sky / it is shining through a wedding veil / there will be snow tonight / she smiles / you reach for her hand.” (“It is Not Only the Botanical Garden” – George Wallace).

 

As fresh and unique as winter is, it is also difficult to endure: “Lifeless leaves rustle / their dry grief / With muted voices / gulls question the wind /...The world is still, / holding its hoary breath..” (“Symphony” – Lynn Kozma).

 

But we do endure, especially those who find solace along the water’s edge: “Close your eyes and the present will disappear / Let me surround you with my voice / sway you with my strength / bring you breath from foreign places / I will stay with you forever.” (“The Wind Off the Sea” – Donna Demian).Shedding our winter cloakAs March arrives do we not hurriedly shuffle off our winter cloak to enter into another state of mind? We take no prisoners; winter is over, or so we hope. “Wandering damp sand for unbroken shells / clams, mussels, other moluscs / foot impressions combed by incoming tide / March has just begun; no tourists yet.” (“Jones Beach” – JR. Turek).

 

Yet, while some still hold onto winter, “...winter’s when we learn to appreciate the survival / of the old against the odds. I’ll take my winters cold.” (“I’ll Take my Winters Cold” – George Wallace), William Cullen Bryant, in “March,” portrays cautious optimism, “The stormy March is come at last, / With wind, and cloud, and changing skies; / I hear the rushing of the blast / That through the snowy valley flies. / For thou, to northern lands, again / The glad and glorious sun dost bring, / And thou hast joined the gentle rain / And wear’st the gentle name of Spring.”

 

From it we can look forward to the return of the perennials: “I see the slips of crocus / tipping the snow / with green / and the stream / near my house / once bursting / with ice / is released and running.” (“However Today” – Gladys Henderson).“Forsythia...erupt like ten thousand suns, in bright profusion.”

 

Perhaps now infused with an intoxicating blush of April, “I suppose each of us somehow must believe / that our own miraculous response to spring / is beyond the comprehension of critics” Mr. Wallace claims in “Serious Spring.” And Mr. Bryant is again asking, in “May Evening,” “Where hast thou wandered, gentle gale, to find / The perfumes thou dost bring?”

 

But Norbert Krapf, former professor of English at Long Island University’s C.W. Post Campus and now poet laureate of Illinois, proceeds down a more thorny – if not wholly antithetical – slope, warning gardeners in “The Politics of Weeds”: “I vote for weeds / and I am of the party / of the wild onion /...for mine is the politics of weeds /...in their uncompromising devotion / to survival and rebirth / they indeed shall inherit the earth.”

 

“Politics of Green” Well, perhaps, Mr. Krapf. But make no mention of it to Ron Overton, for in “Beyond Words,” he elaborates instead on the “politics” of green: “Yes / there are some things / that elude words & / simply must be sung: how the color green defies definition / is simply what it is / cannot be described / beyond the naming / beyond the singing / of green things.

 

”Mindy Kronenberg is moved to nod in agreement. “What vibrant flavor coats the tongue / seeps into the skin, is vaporized / into breath by the air? /...the taste / of something green, a thirst echoing from a well, / the throated tone of a bird / who digs into the grass,” she says in “Green.”

 

And, “Green knows / when to stretch out her fingers / when to stroke the trees / when to coax into bloom / their bright hopeful leaves,” says Ginger Williams in “Green Knows,” finishing the argument once and for all. Indeed, “Every leaf is a miracle,” Mr. Whitman reminds us in “When Lilacs Last in the Dooryard Bloomed.”

 

Ms. Donnelly uses Whitman deftly from time to time to remind us that “These are really the thoughts of all men in all ages and lands, they are not original with me / If they are not yours as much as mine they are nothing, or next to nothing.” (“Song Of Myself # 17”).

 

The glare of summer returns. Yet, soon enough the scent of spring gives way to the glare of summer.

In “June 7th,” Graham Everett can’t forget that “Nights like these when the humidity lifts / and the fireflies proliferate, all summers return / our childhoods as real as we lived them.” The colors of daisies “are as winter as snowflakes / and as summer as lemons,” observes Linda Carnavale in “Daisies Grow on my Windowsill.”

 

It’s now summer, where the children will “kick off our Buster Browns / and ankle socks / to race across the lawn,” (“Going Barefoot” – Lynn Beck), while summer decidedly for Clare Nicolas White “Is an orgy that makes me nervous.” On July 4, “Fireworks burst in the night: / golden spidery chandeliers, / showers of copper filigree, / tan the faces in a crowd” (“July” – Dan Murray).

 

For many Long Islanders, summers are the perfect time to plan for company. But Anne Porter, widow of renowned Long Island painter Fairfield Porter, cautions us of the uncertainty of the task, in “House guests”: “ ‘All of us are coming’ / No, they are not coming / They may be coming / They may not be coming. / Four of them are coming, / That is, if they are coming! / Five will come on Friday / Three will leave on Sunday / Two will come back Tuesday / That is, if they are coming. / If they are coming / Two of them would be coming / But they are not coming... / Six of them are coming!”

 

While Mrs. Porter hurries to prepare for a final head count don’t invite the sun warns Diane Chang, who, in “Without Notice,” politely reminds us of a more existential requirement: “The sun has moved / and leaves no wake /...it remembers never to promise / itself to anyone.”

 

Simple observationsThe simple pedestrian gaze on a lazy summer’s day is never far from the eyes of Adam Fisher. In “Suburban Street” he notes that “A kite string hangs from a telephone wire, / chalk marks the foul line for hoops, / a bike, its blue paint chipped, / lies / in a driveway, a lawnmower / drones, cicadas throb, / a retiree edges his / lawn for the third / time this week.”

 

For other Long Islanders summer spells time for water recreation. In “Riding the Dory” Gladys Henderson writes “We surrender to the currents / and steer our way towards / the green and red buoys that mark the way. / This is my brother’s first boat, / dressed in new paint, spotlessly clean. / A gull sees us, changes direction and follows. / He cries behind our boat / for the favors of old bait, and the bellies / of cleaned fish to be thrown to him.”

 

Meanwhile, safe in her backyard Arlene Eager can observe the birds more leisurely. In “I Sit Very Still,” she conveys that “If you sit very still, they said, / with a bit of food in the palm of your hand / If you sit long enough, day after day... / A restless misfit in this cool still life, / they see that too. / I will tell them that each time / one ate from my hand, / it felt like a kiss.”

 

Summers are also the time for obligatory trips upstate to camp, to the children’s college, or maybe down south. “As we turn off the expressway / and head cross island, he notices that the place / looks like he’s never been away. / We’re both another summer older,” muses Graham Everett in “August 20th.”

 

Fog of autumn

But soon enough the fog of autumn appears, and the gaiety of summer freedom gives way to the uncertainty of another moody season of change. In “Fog,” Weslea Sidon says, “This morning / I cannot see / the garden from the porch / I am not sure / I can remember your face / What I see is a picture / you, standing in the roadway / waving / looking elsewhere / I am not sure / I can find what is knowable / by way of what is known /.”

 

We needn’t worry, however, as Indian summer will erase all doubt – for a wee spell longer. But is there a rub? “September is a month of déja vu. / We look for a classroom in the past. / Summer hovers on the clean gone sky / In dappled richly leaning greens. / A giant orange moon hanging on the sky. / We head toward the core of winter / And stirrings of the summer still to be,” says Kay Kidde in “September.”

 

Whatever summer is left from the false promise of Indian summer, autumn is still in the fog, and “The ocean / is pouring fog / into the trees / In three months’ time / We will have snow / In three months’ time / The saviour will be born,” reminds Anne Porter in “In Storm-Watch Season.”

 

Fuad Attal’s “Autumn” is for him a season of resurrection: “Autumn, a season I love very much / I whisper in its ear, it whispers in mine. / I wait for it impatiently. / It comes at a certain time – / not before, not after, not more, not less.”

 

Mr. Barkan regales the outcome of autumn, too. In “October” he says, “Summer still winks / through the changing leaves / Winds rush about / the high tops of trees / whispering, ‘It’s over! / It’s over!’ / The eve of fruits transforms / to cider charms.”

 

In Gregory Rabassa’s “Indian Summer” “The sea winds blow a message / Up the bay of daffodils / That bloom in Southern springs,” in which “This languid, airy tropicale.../...Keeps the summer’s fortune / Frolicking about the trees.”

 

But, alas, the false promise does not hold, as “The maple leaves turn strawberry / every cold new day; this air / gaudies the trees /...and the brightest buckthorn berries / frost the cheeks of school kids.”

 

By now “The sky is milky / like an eye half lost in sleep. / Already it is dreaming about snow,” remarks Susan Astor in “A Gift of Birds,” and “Gray clouds / hover overhead / in a sky of / remembered dreams,” remembers Ms. Donnelly in “Lost in Autumn.By now “Autumn woods” lay “in gorgeous ruin,” says Juliet Isham, while Mr. Bryant asks for one smile more of the sun, “...one rich smile, and we will try to bear / The piercing winter frost, and winds, and darkening air.”

 

For the birds, there too will be no respite from the coming winter, as they face certain struggle. Yolanda Coulaz observes on the grey beaches of Long Island in “Gull in Grey Waters” that seagulls stand alone, “Silent, stoic / in the stillness that is now, announcing his place in the world, / scavenger wading, waiting for whatever will fill his belly. / Atlantic oceans / have made their pact / with the wind. / I remain rooted in sand, pondering my place / in the order of things. / I will wait for what will fillme, / wait for what is next to come / learning to love this moment.”

 

We, on the other hand, can go home – and try again tomorrow.

 

 

Reviews

 

 

LI Authors

A roundup of books published by people who live, play and apparently, work here.

Author: Maggie Freleng | Published: Saturday, July 31, 2010

Paumanok: Poems and Pictures of Long Island

Kathaleen Donnelly

Cross-Cultural Communications

Paumanok, Long Island’s original name, has many gifted artists and Kathaleen Donnelly has featured two for every day of the year in her compilation Paumanok. She has collected beautiful poetry and images of Long Island captured by Long Island poets and photographers. Her unique display of Long Island is a perfect way to escape the hustle and bustle of ourlives and relax, once a day, with some food for thought and striking images of our natural surroundings.

Photo by Russ Perry

LI woman puts out book of local poems and photos

Originally published: February 4, 2010 2:42 PM

Updated: February 4, 2010 3:45 PM

By JIM MERRITT Special to Newsday

Photo credit: Handout | "Red Barn Window: Caleb Smith Preserve, Smithtown," by Marlene Weinstein, is among the photographs in the book "Paumanok: Poems and Pictures of Long Island."

click here

Photo by Kate Kelly

 

About five years ago, Kathaleen Donnelly of St. James attempted the epic task of reading every poem in Walt Whitman's "Leaves of Grass.""I had read pieces of it but never sat and read it from cover to cover," Donnelly, now 55, of St. James, said recently.Devouring the classic work by Whitman - who was born in 1819 in the West Hills section of Huntington and is widely considered one of America's greatest poets - inspired Donnelly to a number of other literary feats. A nurse practitioner in cardiology at Stony Brook University Medical Center, for the first time she began to write poetry. She also dove into a larger assignment: compiling an anthology of poetry and images by Long Islanders about the Island's natural wonders."Paumanok: Poems and Pictures of Long Island," which was also edited by Donnelly, is being sold at a number of Long Island venues, as well as online at Amazon.com. A thick (5-pound) glossy coffee-table tome with a poem and artwork for every day of the year (including a Whitman excerpt for Feb. 29), "Paumanok" is a showcase for dead poets including William Cullen Bryant of Roslyn.One of her finds was a poem by Olivia Ward Bush-Banks (1869-1944), born in Sag Harbor to African-American and Montaukett parents. Bush-Banks' poem "Oasis (Friendship)" appears on the June 27 page. It also includes many living authors, like Donnelly, with a Long Island connection.Alongside many poems are award-winning images from Long Island's 22 photography clubs, including the Sweetbriar Nature Camera Club in Smithtown, of which Donnelly is a member.Donnelly credits author and translator Claire Nicolas White, with whom she shares a house, with getting her started. White, who has lived in St. James since 1947, arranged an early meeting on the project, over tea between Donnelly and George Wallace, then the Suffolk County poet laureate. They assisted Donnelly in getting other poets involved.White, the translator and a veteran writer who has published in The New Yorker, also served as a poetical gatekeeper."I just wanted good poetry that I thought was original and had lively imagery," White said."Paumanok" was printed at a cost of $36,000 in Sofia, Bulgaria, by Merrick-based Cross-Cultural Communications. It is marked to sell for $125 but retails for substantially less in book stores and online.Donnelly thinks that Whitman had a poetical advantage as a 19th-century Long Islander. "When it came to his writings about the natural world, Whitman had plenty to play with in this huge playground of Long Island," she said.But Donnelly, who enjoys walks on North Shore beaches, said there's plenty of inspiration still around for those who explore Long Island's natural world.Said Donnelly, "If you look hard enough, you can find such beauty and such peace."

Comments

 

How do I begin to thank you for the gift of Long Island voices and sacred places, indeed, this place for the heart to rest, where even prayer is possible. Both solemn, enduring texts... In truth, when I read through Paumanok, Poems and Pictures of Long Island, I was breathless, having never seen an anthology quite like it, such a perfect union of voice and haunting photography, truth in the telling and photographic meditating. The volume is already a classic, a modest sublimity, aesthetic integrity belongs in every library in the nation. Its subtitle should read: Paumanok, The Way It Is, Life's Corner in Things... You have given the world an enduring classic. It is that unique.

 

Vince Clemente ---Letter, November 5,  2009.

 

**********************************************

 

PAUMANOK, Poems & Pictures of Long Island, is a magnificent journey for the eye and the soul. If you think you know Long Island, think again -- and open this book. Long is longer than you ever knew, and deeper too! Kathaleen Donnelly has created a generous love feast for the place she adores.

 

naomi shihab nye

 

**********************************************

 

I am in receipt of PAUMANOK, POEMS AND PICTURES OF LONG ISLAND, and wanted to let you know how impressive it is. As co-owner of Book Review, I've looked at many compilations of stories and poems about Long Island. Nothing comes close to this. Magnificent!

 

Bob Klein--e-mail, October21, 2009

 

**********************************************

 

To: Kathaleen DonnellyFrom: Steven Strongwater/UHMC (CEO, Stony Brook University Hospital)Date: 01/26/2010 10:57AMSubject: AppreciationKathy,Wow!! ...I am sorry I missed you yesterday but wanted to congratulate you on the publication of your book. It is both beautiful and so creative. ...

 

Steve

 

*******************************************

Paumanok is a beautiful book, whether judged by its visual appearance of its words--- the superb quality of the images, the sound of the poems. This anthology, which celebrates the cycle of the seasons, documents as aspect of Long Island far removed from the intensity of expressways, frenetic pace of contemporary life. Paumanok! The names evokes a magic. We must find our own Paumanok, discover our secret place. Entering the pages of this book, we are transported there.

 

Richard Bronson, author of Search for Oz

 

*********************************************

 

What is unusual about this charming anthology is how well the poems and poets---some well-known, others not---all fit together, as if the Long Island they celebrate so beautifully has a sensibility they all share, even though some of the poets write about everyday life and some about sea and sky. The more than 300 photographs tat accompany the poems make a perfect embellishment. The book demonstrates how Long Island is, and has been, a nest of singing birds.

 

Harvey Shapiro, author of The Sights Along the Harbor: New and Collected Poems

 

**********************************************

 

I look at the book every day now and find a sense of meditation, power, and quietness within the pages. I am allowed to remember what peace there may be in silence, and what majesty there is in nature, especially our Long Island nature! Thank you for letting my work be presented in such a gift of sight and sound.

 

Tammy Nuzzo Morgan--Suffolk County Poet Laureate, Founder/President of TNSPS,

Long Island Sounds Editor, January 15, 2010

 

**********************************************

 

What a beautiful book. Thank you to both you and Paul for my wonderful Christmas gift. What makes it even more special is to read your poems with its covers. It is truly an extraordinary gift, which will be enjoyed for years.Friend to poet

 

Joan Higuchi, January 2010

 

**********************************************

 

Kathy Donnelly has superbly paired poem and photograph in a spectacular sensory dance of mutual enhancement, a striking lyrical courtship as metaphorically dancing as that between the poetic image of Lynn Kozma's courtship-dancing crane and her persona's courtship with Christopher Corradino's wonderful photograph of a crane dancing. Turning the pages of this magnificent book is like watching and partaking in a glorious courting dance between poetry and photography of Long Island.

 

Gayl Teller, Poet Laureate of Nassau County,

author of At the Intersection of Everything You Have Ever Loved,November 23, 2009

 

**********************************************

 

Congratulations on being featured by The Long Islander. Danny Schrafel's write up on you and the development of your book, Paumanok, is thorough and well written. I'm delighted that a of photo of the book's cover is included. Keep up the good work!

 

Charlene Knadle author of Paper Lovers, January, 2010

 

**********************************************

 

What a gorgeous, gorgeous book. Thank you from the bottom of my heart dearest friend... I didn't know books could be so beautiful.

 

Joan Higuchi, January 2010

 

*********************************************

 

On receiving the book PAUMANOK, Poems and Pictures of Long Island...You have given us a gift - one that we can have any time we want - any time the longing for purity of form - air - sea - space - feeds orphans like us. We can flip open to any page and the words and the pictures return us to places kept as beloved places - make us take deep breathes and remember that we have always a priceless gift.

 

Beverly and Jim Pion, November 11, 2009

 

*********************************************

 

Max (Wheat, Nassau county people's first Poet Laureate) gave me a copy of the book this week and it's magnificent - beautiful inside and out. I'm very proud that you have some of my poems in such a well designed collection. I know you've worked hard and long on this project and must now feel very satisfied with the results of all your efforts. A great many people will be enjoying and benefiting from this anthology for years to come. Paumanok is a wonderful gift. I will aways treasure it. Thank you.

 

Susan Astor, December 19, 2009

 

********************************************

 

Paumanok is a wonderful book, and I'm very glad to be a part of it. I see, now, what an enormous project it was for you and ccc- please pass on my congrats to Stan B too. Page after page, the photographs are stunning, the poems in various ways a homage to my old island. I'll keep this book by my side for a very long time. I wish I didn't live 350 miles away or I'd join you for celebration gatherings. Your editing has been inspired, faithful, noetic. Thank you for a great gift.

 

William Heyen October 24, 2009

 

********************************************

 

The book is a treasure!

 

Orel Protopopescu

 

********************************************

 

People are marveling at the book. It is truly a lovely work of art and a fittingtribute to the talents and beautythat Long Island is.

 

Kate Kelly, author of Barking at Sunspots, January 2009

 

********************************************

 

All of the poems and photographs are about Long Island. Many of the poetsand photographers are award winning writers and artists but some are just beginning to be recognized; the editor, Kathaleen Donnelly, carefully chooseeach poem and photograph, wanted to be sure they resonated with each other. It was important to her that the artistry of the book be maintained. It is a wonderful representation of the heartbeat of our island. Anyone can pick it up to read and be transported to a meditative and peaceful place. Youneedn’t be a lover of poetry or photography but one of beauty! Each day of the year is represented with a poem and gorgeous photograph. I think this book will be a benchmark book for Long Island.

 

Gladys Henderson, author of Eclipse of Heaven, January 6, 2010

 

********************************************

 

The Paumanok Book of photographs and poetry proved beyond a shadow of a doubt that Long Island, from the East River to the tip of both tail fins is full of pockets of beauty that we Long Islanders don't take for granted. That's one of the main reasons we live here. Our reputation beyond our "fish-shaped island" is tainted by cultural overlay that misleads those not willing to look beyond suburbia to the fantastic open space we have here. Photographers and poets know. This book is a major step towardchanging the attitudes of those who think Long Island is just a bedroom to New York City. This book proves by it celebration. It not only feeds the appetite, is it the food.

 

Tom Stock, Pine Barrens, January 11, 2010

 

********************************************

 

I am completely overwhelmed with the publication. It is a glorious book, full of surprises, each more wonderful than the previous. The pleasure of being in the company of so many of my Long Island peers, mentors and icons is matched only by my pride. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

 

Weslea Sidon, December, 2009

 

********************************************

 

What a stunning anthology--beautiful in every way! Unique in its conception and execution. Love the extension of the poems into complementary photographs.... This has been worth all your efforts andtime. A great tribute to your mother, to Walt Whitman, to the poets and photographers and all of Long Island. Am so pleased to be in this book, and thank you greatly for my copy. Take good care, and warmest congratulationsand admiration for your achievement, D. H.P.S. I order lovely Long Island calendars every year, from Ralph Pugliese, Jr., for myself and my daughter and son. Delightful to meet him and more of his excellent work in Paumanok!

 

D. H. Melhem, Ph.D. , December 4, 2010

 

********************************************

 

Just wanted to let you know that my copy arrived safely and all I can say is wow! What a quality publication from the binding to the paper to the cover to the color of the photographs. The book says that it was made to last for generations.

 

George Chieffet, December 5, 2009

 

*******************************************

 

Kathy,Let me add my congratulations to you on producing a landmark anthology of poems and pictures. All that follow will have to measure against the excellence which you brought to Paumanok. What you have created is nothing less than a gift to the people of Long Island both present and future. For those of us who had the good fortune to participate in your dream and the opportunity to be a part of the legacy, I salute your integrity and your determination to achieve your vision. Many promise but few deliver.

 

Stuart McCallum

 

******************************************

 

. . . but I will tell you "gorgeous book" fed my spirit again, just days past....the occasion of the b'day of #1son, which made me a mom(there are 5) I looked up his date, got caught in opp. page even more. loved it. Thank you, Thank you, what a gift you've given!

 

Jo Barry

Paumanok, Poems and Pictures of Long Island (Book 1)

found at:

 

Gallery North

90 North Country Road

Setauket, NY

 

Lin Sister Herb Shop

4 Bowery

New York City, NY 10013

212 962-5417

 

Walt Whitman Birthplace

State Historic Site and Interpretive Center

246 Walt Whitman Road

West Hills NY 11746-4148

631 427-5247

 

Libraries

 

Nassau County

 

Freeport Library, Long Island Collection

North Merrick Library

Port Washington Library

Roslyn Library, Adult Reference

 

Queens

 

Central Library, Jamaica

 

Manhattan

 

New York Public Library

5th Avenue & 40th Street, NYC

 

Poets House

Ten River Terrace

New York, NY 10282

(212) 431-7920

info@poetshouse.org

 

Suffolk County

 

Dix Hills Library

Bay Shore-

Brightwaters

Emma S. Clark, Setauket

Smithtown LibraryMelville Library

Cold Spring Harbor Library

Comsewogue Library

East Hampton Library

Harbor Fields Library 

Greenlawn

Dix Hills Library

John Jermain Library

Sag Harbor

Islip Library

Longwood Library

Middle Island

North Babylon Library

Northport Library

North Shore Library

Shoram

Port Jefferson Library

Patchogue

Medford Library

Riverhead Library

Sachem Library

Holbrook

Stony Brook/Southampton College

Commack Library

 

Events

 

 

Sunday, March 20, 2011, 4-6pm

Gallery North

90 North Country Road

(Tel: 631.751.2676)Setauket, NY 11733

Poetry from Paumanok, Poems and Pictures of Long Island

followed by an open reading

Sunday, March 20,2011 4-6pm

info@gallerynorth.org

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Gallery North was established in 1965. We are a not-for-profit gallery whose mission is to

present exhibitions of contemporary artists and craftspeople, to assist and encourage artists by

bringing their work to the attention of the public, and to stimulate interest in the arts by

presenting innovative, educational programs.

At the 

Jeanne

Rimsky

Theater

Landmark

on Main Street

Port Washington,

Long Island,

MATOU

in concert,

their CD debut!

followed by

a Q&A 

with

Tiokasin Ghosthorse

on Saturday Night

October 9, 2010.

Paumanok,

Poems

and 

Pictures

on 

Long Island

 avaialble.

"PAUMANOK,

Poems and Pictures

of

Long Island"

Published by

Cross-Cultural Communications, Merrick, NY

invites you to a

Slide Show Presentation

with music

Special guest:

Maxwell Corydon Wheat, Jr.

for the

South Shore Audubon Society

at the Freeport Library

144 West Merrick Road

Freeport, New York 11520

on

Tuesday, September 14, 2010 

"PAUMANOK,

Poems and Pictures of Long Island"

Published by Cross-Cultural Communications

invited you to a poetry reading on

Sunday, June 27th, 20101pm-3pm

at the

Walt Whitman House

You were invited

to read your poem(s)

from the book:

PAUMANOK,

Poems and Pictures of Long Island

Graphic Eye

Port Washingtonon 

Saturday, March 27, 2010

You were invited

to read your poem(s)

from the book

PAUMANOK,

Poems and Pictures of Long Island

at the

Paumanok Vineyards

North Fork of Long Island

1074 Main Road (25A)

Aquebogue, New York 11931

on Sunday, February 14th, 2010

Valentine's Day

with

Wine Tasting!!

PAUMANOK

Poems and Pictures of Long Island

  Sunday, May 2nd, 2010

 

Three Village Inn

Mirabelle Restaurant

The Harborside Room

150 Main Street, Main St.

Stony Brook, NY 11790

(631-751-0555)

 

honoring the

Poets Laureate of Long Island

 

Nassau County

Maxwell Corydon Wheat, Jr.

Gayl Teller

 

Suffolk County

George Wallace

David Axelrod

Daniel Thomas Moran (unable to attend)

Tammy Nuzzo-Morgan

 

Plus special guest:

 

Claire Nicolas White

 

Music with

Jay Ji, guitar

and

students from SBU

Tic Toc Cafe

 

Book Signing

 

April 27th, 2010

410 Lake Avenue

St. James

You were invited

to a poetry book and photography print SALE!

in April, Poetry Month

 

Sunday April 18th, 2010

2-4 pm

 

Cold Spring Harbor Library

invites you to a poetry reading from the book

 

PAUMANOK,

Poems and Pictures of Long Island

 

with music

Isabella Eredita, piano,

Nancy Donnelly, flute

 

while looking at the most beautiful

photograph

from

Long Island photographers

and the array of

books

by Long Island poets/writers.

You were invited

to read your poem(s)

from the book

 

PAUMANOK,

Poems and Pictures

of

Long Island

at the

BJ Spoke Gallery

299 Main Street,

Huntington, New York 11743

on

Saturday, February 6th, 2010

cPAUMANOK

Poems and Pictures of Long Island

Compiled and Edited

by

Kathaleen Donnelly

Published by

Cross-Cultural Communications

Book Launch

November 29, 2009

at the

Cinema Arts Centre

423 Park Avenue, Huntington

631-423-7611 / 631-423-FILM

www.cinemaartscentre.org

click here for film schedule